1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

need advice on a BT99

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by cuspid2, Jan 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cuspid2

cuspid2 TS Member

Jun 21, 2008
    I'm a newbie 8 months shooting a Remington 1100 trap averaging 20 breaks each round I recently bought a BT 99 micro had it custom fitted with a gracoil recoil pad Upon patterning the gun it patterned about 80/20 I shot it once and scored only 9 the worst score I ever had I realize I most probably shot high Is there any way to lower the pattern without bending the barrel or must I relearn to shoot low I barely have shooting the 1100 directly at the bird down I do want to shoot a break opon trap gun. Would putting a raised comb help or accentuate the pattern even higher?

Miles Kletter
  2. Smok'n Joe

Smok'n Joe Active Member

Oct 25, 2009
    Been there...done that.

I've had them both and quite a few others and I still have an 1100. However, like you, I prefer to use a single barrel break open, especially for shooting
    handicap games at the club. But I will tell you that there may be more involved than the POI. While the BT99 is a popular alternative that will serve you well, you may miss that old 1100 for quite some time.