1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Need advice for first Trap gun

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by astryx, May 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. astryx

astryx TS Member

Hi,

I am very new to the world of trap and would like advice on what should be my first trap shotgun.

I have used a semi-auto, O/U and a pump and prefer the semi or the O/U.

I have a limit of $2000.

I will never hunt with this shotgun; it is solely for sporting purposes.

A few I have looked at:

Browning Maxus Sporting (both "normal and carbon fibre)

Beretta AL391 Urika 2 Sporting KO Synthetic 12 Ga 3"

Remington Model 1100 Competition Synthetic & Model 11-87™ Sportsman® Super Mag Synthetic

Any feedback is appreciated and wanted ... also any other suggestions for a trap noob?

Be well

2. Macdaddy

Macdaddy Member

If your looking to shoot mostly trap and occasional sporting....then I would look very seriously at a new or slightly used Browning XT. just my opinion

that gun should be right in your price range

mac

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Try to find a nice used Remington 3200. That way you can shoot it before you buy it. If it breaks targets and is user friendly, you will be happy to buy it. HMB

4. Spanky

Spanky Active Member

Iwould say fit is the most important thing at first, or a way to make it fit if you find something you like.

I would be looking for the XT Browning as mentioned or some version of the Citori Trap. If singles and handicap is all you are doing at this time pick up a BT-99. Both of these gun will last you at least half your lifetime if not more. I would buy it new or fairly new because some of the prices I've seen lately of used o/u's and BT's on here are just a few hundred from new prices.