1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

NEED 1100 ADVICE!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mflora, Nov 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mflora

mflora Member

Having owned and shoot lots of 1100s over the years, thought I was an expert. Not so. I CAN NOT get the stock nut off of a 70s 1100 I am restoring for my wife. I have tried everything. I twisted a new Craftsman large stubby screw driver using a large pipe wrench. We used to use tire irons but I am afraid I will tear the spring tube from the receiver, Any advice would be appreciated.
    Mark

2. Jim R

Jim R Ljutic Nut TS Supporters

Get some Kroil penetrating oil and get it into the hole in the slot of that nut. Let it set over night and give her a try.

I use those sockets with the screw driver blade in them that you get at Harbor Freight.

If that does not work, put it back together and sell it to someone you don't like.

Jim R

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Try using some heat on that threaded cap. HMB

4. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Some can be very, very difficult to remove. I bought a special tool specifically for the stock nut. It looks like a socket, but has a screwdriver blade inside it. This prevents the blade from slipping off the slot. That's the biggest drawback to using a tire iron. If you slip while applying a lot of pressure, and the blade gets between the nut and wood while twisting, you can split the stock. You can temporarily wrap enough duct tape around the shaft by the blade to help center the blade in the wood bore.