1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

My first bird hunt

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dverna, Nov 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dverna

dverna Active Member

Took the PM off yesterday to hunt Chuckers with a buddy and his wife. She trains a black Lab. It was quite an experience to hunt over a dog. I think we would have lost at least three downed birds without the dog as the cover was thick and deep.

I was very impressed with the little Browning 28 ga XS Feather I used. I thought I would flinch/choke as I have been using a release trigger for two years. But when the birds flushed, I didn't think at all. Raise the gun, look at the bird, swing, and pull the trigger. We bought 12 birds and found 10 of them. Nine succumbed to the Great Hunters. Five to the little gun.

I used the Winchester 1 oz load with #6 as we were hoping to get some "free" pheasants. That load just crumples birds inside of 30 yards using IC and M chokes. My buddy saw one rooster but did not get a shot at him.

We are going for pheasants next time. I think I will get a F for the top barrel and put the M in the bottom for the bigger birds. He tells me they flush further out and are faster.

The local Gander Mtn has 28 ga Federal Copper 8's for $10/box (regularly $25). Too bad they are too small as the price is right. I might get a couple of boxes for quail though.

Don Verna

2. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member