1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Muzzleloader Triple 7 black power cleaner

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by r_chappy, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. r_chappy

r_chappy Member

what is a good black powder cleaner especially for cleaning breech plugs? TC sells one in a jar that is suppose to very good. Does anyone know what a similar product might be. I have been told soaps work well. I am new to the muzzleloading hunting. thanks,

chappy

2. XP100

XP100 Well-Known Member

777 is water clean up. Then oil, be sure to use a good solvent to remove the plastic from the bore too.

3. ky4some

ky4some Member

I use all the TC cleaning products. I have found them to be the best. I use the pre-soaked patches for the barrel and also the pre-soaked seasoning patches for the barrel after it's cleaned. Can't remember the name of the TC product for breech plugs but it works well. I've even used Hoppe's #9 on a cotton patch for a really dirty breach plug. Just make sure to dry it good.

Since you are new to muzzleloaders I would recommend checking out the CVA website. They have some great video tutorials. I prefer the TC muzzleloaders over CVA personally but the tutorials were great.

Mike Kamer

4. claybrdr

claybrdr Well-Known Member

I agree with Blackhorn but you need adult primers to light it off. Shotgun 209s or large rifle primers. My Austin & Halleck has been converted to large rifle primers which are even better than 209s for Blackhorn.

5. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

50/50 mix of Ballistol and water. Click the link for other ideas.

Wayne

6. slayer

slayer Well-Known Member

Hoppes no. 9 in a spray bottle. I use it right out on the range with a brush and patch. Bill

7. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member