1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

missing straightaways need help

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by torqueman, Apr 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. torqueman

torqueman Member

Im new to trap and im I am having problems hitting the straight clays?
    The crossing clays seam to be easyer to hit . I shoot with one eye the gun shoots 4inches high at 15 yards. eneny advice will help.
    THANKS JOE

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

I bet your over top of them.

3. torqueman

torqueman Member

Should I LOWER or raise the comb? thanks Joe

4. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Lower it if you're shooting over the targets.

5. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Setterman is right..."IF" your over them. I'm just guessing becasue its what i tend to see people doing myself included. I haven't seen you shoot.

6. JerryP

JerryP Active Member

You may very well be stopping the gun and shooting under the target. pull up through the target as you shoot.

7. torqueman

torqueman Member

Whats a good amount to start with 1/4 inch or 1/8 inch it is raised 1/2 inch now.

8. slugbug1

slugbug1 Member

Joe,
    You can't do it this way. There is absolutely nothing anyone can say here that will make any difference, since no one here knows why your missing. Best advice I could give would be to get an experienced shooter at your club to help you. Lock the trap on straightaways from post 3, and shoot until you have it figured out. At least thats a start in the right direction. GaryL.

9. waverider

waverider Well-Known Member

Before you start fiddling with the comb.....see if you can get one of the better shooters to stand behind you to see where you are missing.