1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC'S new primer tray assembly

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by gyrine, Jul 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gyrine

gyrine TS Member

MEC

I have been using the new MEC large primer assembly for about two months now on my 9000 and my experience is that it is far from an improvement. The primer feed system seems to be the MEC weak link and I think this new item creates far more problems than it solves. For me it takes constant tinkering to keep it in adjustment. If anybody asked me, I would say "save your money".

2. capvan

capvan Active Member

Well, I've been using one since they first came out and I have had zero problems. I was careful with the initial setup and tightened everything down once it was working. I still keep on eye on the primer drop, but the hiccups have been few and far between. I load around 2,000+ shells a year.

3. Quack Shot

Quack Shot Active Member

Aside from the occasional adjustment, cleaning, and drop of graphite, mine have been pretty much trouble free, provided they were set up right from the beginning. The first thing I look at when they go "Out Of Adjustment" is the operating handle, to see if it is bending or starting to crack at the bends.

4. Hauxfan

Hauxfan Well-Known Member

Pretty much trouble free for me too. But, you still have to keep an eye on the primer to see that it did drop.

Other than that, it's good to go.....

Hauxfan!

5. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

Hauxfan! 8 years and counting. Hi Dave! Hap

6. dugout

dugout TS Member

Gyrine;