1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC QUESTION

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by WYBOO WOOD, Jul 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WYBOO WOOD

WYBOO WOOD Member

I am new to reloading. I have a MEC 600 jr. I am attempting to throw 21 gr of

Green Dot for some 1 1/8 oz loads and am using MEC's # 34 bushing. Using an

RCBS scale, I have not been able to throw more than 19.8 gr. Have tried with

the powder bottle nearly full. And am using a powder baffle. Is this a

humidity issue?. Or is this the usual variation that occurs?. Any ideas ??

Thanks

Dave Hunt.

2. Leo

Leo Well-Known Member

On a jr, you have to remember that each powder charge is shaken down with 5 handle strokes. This makes a difference. Work the handle 5 times before you throw a powder charge in your scale pan. You might find it closer than you think. This drove me crazy when I first started reloading on a MEC jr. Good Luck

3. Citori Shooter

Citori Shooter TS Member

Also keep in mind that different lots of powder may weight differently in the same bushing.Try stroking the handle as stated above to settle the powder then weigh it and change bushing as necessary to get the right weight.Also,the load books usually allow for a +/- of 5%,which could yield a drop of between 20-22 grains.It won't be 21 grains exactly every time.

4. waverider

waverider Well-Known Member

If you are using a #34 bushing because of Alliant's bushing chart... then what you are seeing is very common. The bushing charts are just starting references. I also suspect that Alliant did that on purpose to cover themselves with people that reload with out a scale.