1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000H shot droping

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by John 53, Feb 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John 53

John 53 Member

I have been using a MEC 9000H for about 7 years now. Just recently, it has started, on a random basis, not droping shot or droping it AFTER the shell has started to move to the next station. I am loading #6 shot for crow shooting.

I sent an email to MEC on Thursday, but have not received a reply yet. Has anyone experienced this, and what did you do to stop the problem?

Thanks.

John

2. MilCon

MilCon Member

It sounds to me like you need to clean the tubes and the funnels.
    The tube anf funnel will gunk up on you after time.
    Soke the tube in some hot water with Dawn, take a green pad and cut a strip and run it through the tube.
    Both tubes will just lift out if you tilt the upper bottle section.

3. fly

fly Active Member

make sure your bottles are not to tight.

4. FLIP

FLIP Member

sounds like the shot is bridging in the tube,I had the same trouble with #6s filed and sanded the inside of tube that help,some have told me to cut the bottom off a little to open the lower hole up.(I did not)

5. Dr.Longshot

Dr.Longshot Banned Banned

Cut the Bottom off the shot dropping tube about 1/8th inch, or open it up with a round Rat Tail File then sand with sand paper in a split dowel rod that will fit the opening.

Gary Bryant
    Dr.longshot

6. Shady Creek

Shady Creek TS Member

MEC Sells a steel shot drop tube,works well with larger shot. Sometimes 4s will bridge but not often....GOOD LUCK

7. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member