1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000H Rebuild question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Calkidd, Oct 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    I am currently in the process of cleaning up/rebuilding a 9000H and I have a question. If I remove the thin metal plate that is riveted on to the base of the reloader can i simply use pop style rivets to reattach it? I want to glass bead everything and repaint the unit.
     
  2. skeet_man

    skeet_man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,528
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Button head cap screws would be easier, and would probably look better, but I don't see why pop rivets wouldn't work if they were the right size.
     
  3. Trap2

    Trap2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Bryan... Be very careful when doing this type of project. The finished product may look so good you won't want to use it....lol.... I hope you enjoy the loader... Dan
     
  4. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Thanks for the loader Dan. It suffered a little rust on some minor parts, but It works fine I just wanted to clean it up a little bit.
     
  5. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,194
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    Pop rivets will work fine. Just measure the thickness of the base and the metal plate combined and buy rivets accordingly. I had one missing on a Mec i had before and replaced it this way. Just drill out the old ones. Post some pics when your done with your rebuild.---Matt
     
  6. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Thanks Matt, I should have taken photos of it before, boy was it dirty. No complaints here I got a good deal it's just I am a little OCD when it comes to my equipment. Plus I am like a Tweaker I like to take stuff a part and put it back together.
     
  7. Shady Creek

    Shady Creek TS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Anyone know what kind and weight of oil to use when changing the pump oil......Thanks and GOOD LUCK
     
  8. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Mine said 10w-30 on the side of the pump.
     
  9. Big Jack

    Big Jack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,735
    Location:
    Erie, Pa
    Mine has been running on automatic tranny fluid for fifteen years or more. No problems!

    Big Jack
     
  10. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    I didn't take photos before but here are some with it a part.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Oh one question. Are the painted parts powder coated or sprayed on?
     
  12. birddog1964

    birddog1964 TS Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    That's the way I clean and repair loaders, is a box full of parts and replace any worn parts then going back together.lol

    lee

    P.S If you need any help on your project, don't hesitate to email me or call me.
     
  13. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,194
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    The older ones are almost certain to be painted. I'm not sure on the newer ones. If you have a place locally that can powder coat them and its reasonable, DO IT. There is no comparison when it comes to durability and quality. Just my 2 cents anyway.--Matt
     
  14. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    My local powder coater will powder coat the base and turret assembly unit red along with the rest of the parts black all for $40!!! Pictures will follow when I pick up the parts later this week.
     
  15. birddog1964

    birddog1964 TS Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Just a little info on the re-installment of the gauge ring, I would use 1/8-3/16 steel rivets so they don't work loose.

    thanks
    lee
     
  16. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Thanks for the insight, but the total thickness of the base and guage plate is 1/4".
     
  17. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    I got the reloader back from the powder coaters and I must say they did a wonderful job. However, there is much more work involved in prepping the load for assembly due to the the coating being thicker than conventional spray paint. A lot of the holes can be drilled out by a drill bit and the larger holes you have to use a die grinder with a sanding drum.

    I have ran into a few problems concerning the actuating rod. For some reason the bolt, with the roller at the bottom of the rod, is distorting and the rod is bending. While watching the rod travel it appears to bottom out before the reloader travels all the way down thus putting undue stress. The collet collar appears to move freely. Any suggestion? I am installing the bolt with a roller in the bottom hole.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I would have pictures of the reloader, but I had to take it back apart to fix it.
     
  18. birddog1964

    birddog1964 TS Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    It does not go in the bottom hole it is for 3" shells it goes in the top hole for 2-3/4" shells, that is if that's what you are loading.lol.

    thanks
    lee
     
  19. Calkidd

    Calkidd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,325
    Location:
    Central Valley
    Thanks Lee I called MEC this morning and found out it goes in the top hole. The one thing about the H model is you never know when the machine is binding up. You can really damage the equipment and not know it. I have pictures of the finished proct and ill post them up later tonight.
     
  20. Trap2

    Trap2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Redding, California
    Let's see the pictures, Bryan..... Don't keep us in suspense... Dan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

rebuilding a mec 9000 h