1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000G Reloading Newbie Question - Crimp Close

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GWN21, Nov 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GWN21

GWN21 TS Member

Hello all,

So I'm new to reloading. I just put my first 10 shells thru the new MEC 9000G and this is the current recipie that I'm using:

12GA 2 3/4" Remington STS Hull
    7/8oz #8 Shot
    Clays - Powder - (15.9gr)
    Win 209 - Primer
    WAA12SL - WAD - (Claybuster CB1100-12)

Pictures:
    Picture of the 4 Shells show the Swirl - This is what's happening.
    Picture of the 2 Shells show Factory New Shells. (That's what I need).
    Picture of the Cam Adjustment - This is where the MEC Manuals says to adjust the swirl.

Everything is coming out great, but when I look at the Crimp Close, I see that it has a "swirl" in it. Using the MEC Manual, it says that if at Station #5 that you get a Swirl in the crimp, to correct by raising the cam adjustment approx. 1/32 inch.

I've losen the screw (below and to the right of the "stampped" R in picture) and raised and lowered the cam up and down the length of the cut hole. But every shell still shows a swirl in the crimp. (made about another 10 shells).

Am I doing something wrong? The MEC 9000H is brand new and these are the first reloads, so is it not "broken in"? I've made no adjustments, other then setting up the Powder and lead shot.

Let me know what I can do about the swirls. For Reference, I added a picture of what two new unuse Remington STS shells look like fresh from the box.

Thanks,

John
    GWN21

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. bluskyshooter

bluskyshooter Active Member