1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Mec 9000 problem

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by capvan, Oct 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. capvan

capvan Active Member

I've been using a Mec 9000 for about 3 years. Lately, about every 4th or 5th shell, sometimes more, the hull won't drop down into the collet. It just "sticks" about half way and won't go until I rotate it or "fiddle" with it. Probably something simple, anyone have any ideas? Taking it apart seems rather difficult to me. I can get the linkage apart and that's about it...

Any help or suggestions appreciated!

cap

2. AOWINNER

AOWINNER TS Member

You probably have a piece of shot between the shell lifter and its wall. Push out the shell lifter from the bottom, and the obstruction will fall out, make sure you align it on the fork when you reinstall it.
    Dave

3. capvan

capvan Active Member

Thank you gentlemen. I'll see what happens....

cap

4. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

Over 30 plus years, since the MEC Size Master arrived around 1977. I have experienced this problem and most often it is a piece of shot flattened between the fingers of the collet. I have a dental pick, available at most drug stores, that I use to dislodge the shot.

Once, on a MEC Grabber, one of the fingers of the collet was sticking out and when I pushed it back, the finger broke and I had to replace the collet. It had a lot of reloads through it but I also failed to lube it properly.

When you find out and correct your problem, you may want to check your lubrication. I use an anti-sieze lube I get at an auto parts store.

Ed Ward

5. Bob_K

Bob_K Well-Known Member