1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Mec 9000 inconsistent powder drops

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by BrowningPotato, Sep 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrowningPotato

BrowningPotato TS Member

Hello all, first I would like to say I have been reading your threads for some time and finally decided to play along, you have some great discussions. Now to my question. I have a Mec 9000 progressive loader which I have been using for roughly 5 years. For the past 2 years it has been sitting in the attic as I have no time to shoot or reload. Upon getting it out about a month ago I started back loading with the same loads I had been loadig when I put it away (oakley loads). When I wanted to switch to some practice loads I decided I should weigh a couple of loads to make sure my bushing was giving the correct grainage (which was supposed to be 17.5gr). Upone digitally weighing several shells I realized that my powder loads were quite inconsistent, ranging from 17.2gr to 17.8gr. First of all, is this variation going to dramatically affect my shells and make them noticeably inconsistent (I am using Hogden Clays powder). And secondly, is there a way to make my powder charges more consistent. The charge bar is going all the way over and it appears as though the brass and rubber bushings are seated correctly. Has anyone else had this problem, and if so is there a way to fix it?

Thanks in advance

2. Shooting Jack

Shooting Jack Active Member