1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000 hydraulic VS Automate

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dhwbailey, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhwbailey

dhwbailey Member

Thinking of going auto. Am I better off with the hydraulic unit, or the automate one?

2. newcastle

newcastle Member

If your only going to be loading 12 ga at home then I would get a hydraulic,if you plan on subgauge/ possible travel then get the automate.

3. birdtracker

birdtracker Active Member

I just got a hydraulic MEC and I like it. It will put out the shells and is not as noisy than what I expected. I had to have an electrician put me a 110 circuit on my loading bench. Don

4. Erik W

Erik W Member

I have no experience with Automate, but can testify that hydro is an excellent machine; a real workhorse.

5. jbmi

jbmi Well-Known Member

The hydraulic is operated by your foot leaving both hands free to reach for another hull and wad. The Automate requires your hands to push two buttons each time. The foot is much quicker and I feel less tiring.

6. Gold E

Gold E TS Member

I’m very pleased with my Automate.

7. AveragEd

AveragEd Well-Known Member

The Automate offers portability, something a reloader without a dedicated work area will appreciate. When finished loading on the coffee or kitchen table, just unplug it and put the whole works in a closet - it doesn't have to fastened down and has no provision for that. It's also quieter and less cluttered than a hydraulic system and has no potential for leakage.