1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000-H

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Bill D., May 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill D.

Bill D. Member

I just changed to an adjustable charge bar on my 9000-H. My problem is the first five to eight powder charges are heavy. They can be as much as 1 to 11/2 grains heavy. After that they are fine. I have checked them both with and with out a powder baffle with the same result. Has any one else had a problem like this?

2. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

NO! I've been using that combination for close to 20 years and I can reliably predict the first drop to be heavy due to settling of the powder since the last time used but it's good to go from then on although I confirm that the second drop is OK. I don't like the after market powder baffles. But I have after market powder bottles with built in baffles (no longer made). Don't know just what to suggest for you except to weigh those first 5 or so until it all settles down......Bob Dodd

3. Bob_K

Bob_K Well-Known Member

I usually find it takes a few loads to settle everything in. IMO its no big deal.

4. Erik W

Erik W Member

I usually tap powder bottle a couple times after changing or topping off. With some powders, you can actually see powder level drop slightly as powder settles in bottle. Older ball powders usually throw first charge spot on, but fluffy or flake powders need to settle in bottle.

5. southjblue

southjblue Active Member

I use same loader but no adj bar(bushings) and I note a difference of .05 gr from time to time---has something to do with amount of powder in the powder holder---mec says that little difference is nothing to worry about---I also have a Dillon 900 and notice a simular difference also---sjb---

6. Setterman