1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 9000 charge bar timing problem?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by M R Ducks, Mar 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. M R Ducks

M R Ducks Member

So I'm new to this reloading thing - I have a new 9000gn which worked just fine for 23 shells and then the charge bar stopped moving. It locks in place to the left just fine, but no longer releases to mvoe right under pull from teh return spring. Looks like a timing problem?? Seems the rod that should trip the lock does not strike it until the pivot has moved enough to allow the return spring to laoad the bar against the clasp??

I see no way to adjust the timing - any help??

Joe

2. trapshooter1581

trapshooter1581 TS Member

I had this problem...resolved it by adding 2 thick washers between the spring plate and the charge bar. This put enough additional tension in the spring to pull the charge bar back.

Dave

3. Auctioneer

Auctioneer Well-Known Member

If you look at your manual and look at the powder section for the bar you will see the powder jug, then the big black washer and then a thin brass washer. Replace the thin brass washer. It will flatten out and catch the frame and bar and stop it in place. I just had to do that myself. Just remember to have the bumps facing up when you put it in place.

4. M R Ducks

M R Ducks Member

I'm not explaing the problem correctly.... It's not that the bar gets stuck, it's that it doesn't unlock. The catch that hooks the bottom right of the charge bar never gets released.

Joe

5. JimC

JimC Member

Lower the reprime tube. It's in the manual.

6. Palos shooter

Palos shooter Active Member