1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

MEC 600 Jr. reloading help

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Blueraven81, Feb 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blueraven81

Blueraven81 TS Member

I'm new to reloading and have a problem with calculating the powder load.

Here's my info:
    Remington Gun Club Hulls,
    Hodgdon International Clays powder,
    Powder Load- 18.4 Grains,
    MEC 600 Jr Mark 5 reloader with universal charge bar,
    Winchester WAA12 wads,
    Winchester 209 primers,
    #8 Shot @ 1 1/8 oz

According to my calculations, in order to get 18.4 grains of powder I need to set my charge bar to 8+17, but when I measure the output powder it weighes considerable less than 18.4 grains.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance, Blueraven

2. Tripod

Tripod Well-Known Member

Probably nothing. Powder density varies from lot to lot and charge bars are adjustable for that reason. Adjust your bar till it is consistently dropping what you want. To keep the same load when you change lots of powders, you probably will have to re-adjust your bar a bit.

3. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

I've been using a universal bar for years and the listed settings are always low with every powder I have used. How much less than 18.4? Go up to 8+30 or 9+0 and weight your drop after a few cycles. Before you load any shells. I keep a notebook by my loader and write down the settings. For example the manual say 4+20 for 17 grains 700X, my bar its 5+7. Check the link I sent. Wayne

4. al391claybuster

al391claybuster TS Member