1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

lousy crimps pw 2000 28ga

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by LUGNUTZ426, Nov 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LUGNUTZ426

LUGNUTZ426 TS Member

I am new to reloading. have a used pw2000 28ga. every third or fourth shell
    crimps are terrible. depth is good . I am thinking crimp starter is not finding original crimp grooves and crushing the folds. they come out looking pretty mangled. I am using once fired sts hulls. Out of 10 reloads. 5 look perfect, 3 have some swirl and 2 will be just plain ugly. The pw manual
    only talks about depth and corner roundness, but doesn't address swirl or ugly.
    Any suggestions from you veteran loaders?

2. bigbore613

bigbore613 Active Member

Take a look at the length of the empties to see if they are the same length. Jeff

3. skeeljc

skeeljc Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

Which crimp starter are you using? Plastic or metal?

Jim Skeel<BR>
    P/W Dealer/Distributor

4. chipking

chipking TS Member

Before you blame the loader get a batch of WWHS 28ga hulls and load them. I had nothing but trouble including the problem you have with STS 28 ga hulls. I could load any other hull including RIOs without having a problem. You may also encounter varying hull length, hull base separation, and hulls that are much thicker on one side with the STS 28 ga. Only STS hull I won't use.

--- Chip King ---

5. LUGNUTZ426

LUGNUTZ426 TS Member

PLASTIC PRE CRIMPER. SOME OF THE EMPTYS ARE A LITTLE LONGER THAN OTHERS. SHOULD I SEPERATE THEM BY HEIGHT, THEN WHAT???

THANKS

6. skeeljc

I agree with Chip King. 28 gauge STS hulls are not good hulls to reload.

If your hulls have varying lengths you need to sort them and then set the height of the crimp starter for each length.