1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

LOP'S and age

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Tugboat, Apr 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tugboat

Tugboat Member

LOP

When I was younger I needed a 16" lop to shoot trap...Now that I am older, 67, I find the long stock is harder to manage, especially for sporting clays....Anyone else experience the same phenomenon?

2. OldGoat

OldGoat Well-Known Member

As you age, you shrink. I used to be ~2" taller...your reach shrinks accordingly. Regards, Ed

3. 3357

3357 Member

My extremities are as long as they have ever been.

4. the old guy

the old guy TS Member

I'm 72 and I've been shooting 14 1/4 since 1956 as close as I can remember. Suck it up and shoot your gun.

Paul A. Bobby

5. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

In 1970 I used a lop of 14 3/8. In 1980 I went down to 14". In the 90's I went to 13 1/2". In the year 2000 I was at 13.25". To day, I'm at 13".

If I live 10 more years I will probably be shooting with a pistol grip. Now that I think of it in 1970 I had a 44 inch chest. Today my chest is 56". Maybe that's the reason or the 100lbs I've gained since 1970?
    Steve Balistreri

6. ljutic73

ljutic73 Well-Known Member

My doubles gun doesn't fit me very well since losing 150 lbs. I'm going to play with spacers and a new KickEez Rocker pad while I'm recovering from knee surgery over the next 2 months.

Ron Burr

7. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    I pulled some rifles out of my safe that I had not used in many years. Discovered that the scopes were too far forward now. I could not crane my neck into them because of three fused cervical vertebrae (C5, C6 & C7).