1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for a Great Reloading book

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by o3dave, Nov 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. o3dave

o3dave TS Member

Im new to reloading, Im hoping there is a great book on shotgun reloading that I havent been able to find on my own. I load strictly 2 3/4 shells for trap shooting. I understand the basic principles but my loads dont seem to register any wad pressure on my mec 600 jr. Im guessing that I dont have the proper wad size to my load?

Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks, Dave

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

If you want wad pressure you can make an adjustment to the loading machine. If you want reloading information go to one of the many gun powder manufacturers web sites. HMB

3. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

Dave, to expand hmb's remarks, you can lower the ram tube that seats the wad and also drops the shot. You should lower the tube until you just see a bit of movement in your wad pressure scale. You don't need 25, 30, or 40 lbs or more of wad pressure with modern hulls, wads, and so on. Just enough pressure to convince you that the wad is seating well on the powder. The Lyman loading books are good but have a lot more info than that needed for shot shell loading. If you're using a MEC machine, getting just a tad of wad pressure, crimps about as deep as the thickness of a dime, and crimps without crunched up petals or open holes in the center, and then use recipes from the several powder mfg. handbooks, you'll be just fine. Calling Mec you will find lots of good advice on any adjuestments you may want on your machine.....breakemall.....Bob Dodd

4. o3dave

o3dave TS Member

BDodd, great explanation. Thanks for taking the time.
    Dave

5. djpk69