1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

loads for handicap beyond 25yds???

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by mike T, Sep 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike T

mike T Member

What do you all think of 1oz loads at the proper speed for handicap at 25yds and beyond? I have been thinking of using 1oz fro 16s and doubles for a while now. Any comments? I think with 1oz loads you need to use 8's or 81/2's
    haven't shot since June due to shoulder surgery so lots of time to let the mind wonder.
    mike t.

2. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

I think everyone else should use 1 oz loads.

3. chipking

chipking TS Member

Mike T I have been shooting a lot of 1oz lately and I like them. I load 1175 - 1180fps for 16 and doubles and I just started shooting 1oz 8 at 1235 -1245 fps from the 24. 1oz 8s at 1180 got me 4 punches this year so I figured that a little step up in speed should push me back at least once or twice before I need to go to 1 1/8oz if ever.

--- Chip King ---

4. hoggy

hoggy TS Member

I've been shooting 1 oz loads for everything for the last year and 1/2 and have NOT noticed any MORE losses becuase I switched. If your on your game another 1/8 oz isn't going to make any difference. If you're off a little it may cost you a bird. I do swithch to 7 1/2 around 25 yards though but that in itself may not make a difference. I also use 7 1/2's when it's windy.

5. Didreckson

Didreckson Active Member