1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Length of barrel

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, Oct 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

I just started shooting trap in March and use a 28" Browning Sporting Clays gun. I was thinking about getting a 'trap' gun. I notice that a lot of trap guns are 34". What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of a longer barrel?

2. Barry C. Roach

Barry C. Roach Well-Known Member

sighting plane and a bit of shot speed. Which Browning are you using now?

3. phirel

phirel TS Member

Longer barrels seem to help make the barres swing smoother and make it a little more difficult to stop the barrel swing just before you shoot.

Pat Ireland

4. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

If you're a tall guy like I am, the longer barrel allows you to rest the muzzle on your toe between shots without leaning over uncomfortably as you must with a shorter barrel.

John C. Saubak

5. gdbabin

gdbabin TS Member

I'm with John, when I shoot my 30" 3200 I feel like I'm falling over when resting it on the toe. My 32" 3200 is just right for resting between shots.

My scores with both guns are the same as they are twins otherwise, and I do keep detailed records of my scores.

The 2 inches are virtually indistinguishable when looking out over the barrels and when swinging--for me.

I'd suspect everything else being equal a four inch difference would be more perceptible, and might result in the need for platform shoes for those vertically challenged.

Guy Babin

6. glenns

glenns Member

I did get to shoot a 34" Ljutic and it did seem to swing smoother than my 28".

Barry - I have the Browning Special Sporting Clays O/U, 28" barrel.