1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Lee Load All 2 vs MEC 600 Jr. - Beginner

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Cyanzer, Jan 9, 2017.

1. Cyanzer

Cyanzer TS Member

I am pretty new to target shooting and am seriously considering starting to re-load. I have run several calculators and realize that it won't be that cost effective, and while I accept that fact it is still frustrating.

I want to re-load because I believe I will enjoy the process and the pride that comes with making my own shells. Saving money won't be my top priority - learning the ins and outs of reloading will be.

I will probably shoot between 200-400 shells a month when the weather warms up and am trying to determine what loading press I should buy. While I've read that the MEC is a better machine - and much much faster, I'm just not sure if it makes sense for someone like me to shell out four times the money to get a MEC considering the volume of shells I'll be re-loading.

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, comments, and advice.

Thanks - Chase

2. Nebs

Nebs Well-Known Member

This is a no -brainer, get the MEC. Also, there should be plenty of used ones for sale on eBay for attractive prices (sub $100).

Leo, red_barron1976 and Russ-in-Pa thanked this.
  3. Mr. Pump Gun

Mr. Pump Gun Member

I was recently in your same situation , and trust me the mec is the way to go. I absolutely love my mec 600jr.

4. mac1

mac1 Active Member

Mec 600 jr the loadall is all plastic, not any room for speculation on this one

Mac

5. Geoman15

Geoman15 TS Supporters TS Supporters

I've owned a used both.
    While the Load-all will load a good looking shell, the MEC is made to last and is worth the difference.
    My Lee broke after a couple of years loading less than a 1000 hunting loads.