1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Learning Double Release

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by MOP, May 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MOP

MOP Active Member

I have been shooting a release/pull for several years. The time has come to learn to use a double release,if I can (occasional flinch on second shot). I would appreciate advice from double release shooters on the best way to do this and the length of time required to make the adjustment. I had no trouble at all with the change from pull/pull to release/pull.

2. chipking

chipking TS Member

I will pass on what works for me. When I shoot the first bird and start to come off to the second as soon as my eyes are on the second bird I set for the second shot so that when the barrel catches up to the eyes and target everything is ready to go. I found that for me at least trying to wait and set after I was on the second bird made for very choppy gun handling and broke my concentration just when I needed to be focused on the bird the most. Doing it in the null period when your eyes and gun are not locked on the target makes for an easy smooth transition between shot 1 and 2

I recently picked up another CG that is set up release pull and I envy you folks although for the life of me I can't see how you folks shoot them. Takes more skill and coordination than I can muster. On about 2 out of 5 tries I blew big holes in the sky somewhere between the remains of target 1 and target 2.

--- Chip King ---

3. snowbird

snowbird TS Member

I just worked on it while sitting in a chair or walking around the house. Get that finger motion going (without the gun) a 100 times a day for a few days.