1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Laugh if you must, but I

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GrandpasArms, May 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrandpasArms

GrandpasArms TS Supporters TS Supporters

STRANGE!

This is a duplicate post. I don't recall posting it twice.

Larry

Goals are best achieved when they're written and stated publicly. That's what I'm doing with this post.

I started shooting shotgun sports in 2009. Four years later I'm collecting Social Security and I'm still at it, adding skeet and sporting clays along the way. I'm good enough at all three sports to not embarrass myself when I go our to "play".

On one hand, it is fairly common to fall into a belief pit that I'm getting too old to accomplish anything significant in sports, especially in ones that I've only been fumbling at for 4 short years. On the other, who could honestly predict whether I will fail?

I've been a member of ATA since early on, yet have never shot a registered target.

There are days when I think I should have stayed home and saved the fees and ammo costs. There are also days when I'm easily making smoke balls from 16 yards - and even farther back. That seems to suggest potential - if not for greatness, at least for a trophy of some sorts.

I'm publicly declaring today that I will shoot ATA targets, enter events, and compete for a prize. I will win something before I turn 70. I'll accept anything gratefully - but nothing for "most improved senior". Give that one to a real old guy.

I have 3 years and 5 months to succeed.

Larry

2. ebsurveyor

ebsurveyor Member

Go for it. I got lucky and won some trophies last week.

D.O.B. 10-1-46

3. Bruce Specht

Bruce Specht Well-Known Member