1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

KX-5 as a first gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by mh03911, Jan 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mh03911

mh03911 TS Member

I am a beginner trap shooter. I have been going with a friend for about 6 months, but I hate to borrow other people’s stuff, so I don't go very often. I was hooked instantly, and started shopping for a gun after my second trip. My friend shoots an older BT-99 and an XT trap. My original plan was to get a new BT-99, but I was not very impressed with them-I think they look, and feel, much cheaper than the one I have been shooting. A friend at a local gun shop has been on the lookout for an older 99 or an XT in very good condition, but nothing has come along.

My countless hours of internet research sparked an interest in the Krieghoff KX-5, but I have never laid hands on one, and the price seemed like it was out of reach (I went into this thinking I was going to spend $800-$1000). I am a sucker for German craftsmanship, and it looks like a very good gun. I like the idea of buying things once, but I didn’t think I would be very likely to come across one locally. I had written it off until a very reputable local seller listed a kx-5 and an XT for sale. I am going to look at them this weekend, and if the Krieghoff feels good I am seriously considering making an offer.

Am I crazy to be seriously considering the kx-5? In almost every way it seems like a good first gun. It is very adjustable for a shooting style that is likely to change, if I stick with trap shooting it will probably be the last single barrel gun I ever buy, and if I don’t stick with trap I can probably get most of my money back. The only down side is the upfront cost.
    Input would be appreciated.
    Marc