1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Kolar too heavy for me?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by himejim, Feb 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. himejim

himejim Member

I have been shooting a Kolar unsingle combo for a few years. I am a one-eyed shooter so I have a low gun hold. Each year I feel like I am getting slower and slower to the target. Could it be that the gun is too heavy or long (34") for me as I age a lose a little strength? Anyone do anything to change the balance or go to a shorter length barrel that helped you with a similar issue? Are P guns or K guns similar in weight or balance? Thanks for your opinions. Jim

2. Beretta687EELL

Beretta687EELL Well-Known Member

They are a heavy gun. What are your scores like, are you happy with them? .750 bore barrels are lighter than .740 bores. Try a tighter choke. Get a Terry Jordan wall chart and build up your muscles. Try some weight in the stock, which will change the balance, which will make the barrels move faster. I shoot a 34" .750 bore T/A Max with a PFS and was told yesterday that I move the gun very fast to the target. I think the PFS adds a fair bit of weight compared to the regular wood stock. Lots of options. Good luck, I love my Kolar and would not want to give it up. Bill Malcolm

Edit: PS, I'm also a one eyed shooter and hold a low gun.

3. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member

How heavy is it ? I had (have) the same problem and did trade guns . I went from a 10lb. 2oz. gun to 9lb. gun big help. The heavy guns really show up shooting register trap . The first trap is fine the last is hell .

4. blackfoot

blackfoot Member