1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Kolar Blowing UP?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Claymuncher, Feb 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Claymuncher

Claymuncher Member

I hear a number of different guns blowing up but I cannot recall hearing about a Kolar taking the big bang. Any gun can blow I realize under the right pressure but I thought Kolar's might be made a little heftier, Curios as I shoot a one.

I remember when I first started shooting as a kid just before plastic, everyone looked down the barrel after a shot, Paper wads and bad bases I suppose. Every one did a guick blow to clear the smoke. I still see a few doing it, and I am gong to start the habit.

CM

2. goose2

goose2 Well-Known Member

Been doing it since I started shooting trap. Looking for day light at the end of the barrel is a good habit to get into.

3. Jeff P

Jeff P Well-Known Member

We had one here in Anchorage that split out the last foot of the barrel on a factory STS.

4. daddiooo

daddiooo TS Supporters TS Supporters

Jeff,

Was there an obstruction in the barrel? Or possibly an aftermarket choke tube issue?

Thanks in advance for any additional info.

Dave

5. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

I've only ever seen 1 Kolar come apart. It seems the guy thought that all the "Clays" powders were the same. He used regular Clays in his 20ga reloads and promptly split the top barrel and the subgage tube.

ss

6. blooch

blooch Member

We have a guy who at our place regularly that shoots a Kolar with skeet tubes had a barrel and tube rip open shooting new 20ga Remington STS skeet shells at the World shoot a couple of years ago. It was supposed to be the only Kolar gun that had "blown up" up to that time.

7. THALL

THALL Member