1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

K80 Release Trigger O/U Problem

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by prairiedog, May 26, 2013.

1. prairiedog

prairiedog Member

Last year I traded 32" O/U barrels for 30" O/U barrels on a K80 Trap Special w/double release triggers at the Grand. Krieghoff International fitted the new O/U to my receiver. I didn't have any problems with the O/U initially but due to medical issues I wasn't shooting many (read that any) doubles until this spring when I started shooting in a doubles league. 5 wks into the league, my scores are still crappy but the O/U is shooting fine, if a little tight (and yes, all bearing surfaces are coated with Krieghoff grease).

Medical issues were resolved about that time and my doubles scores began to improve so much that I began shooting some registered doubles again. That's when I began to have FTF problems. Started with the bottom barrel but happened occasionally with the top barrel. I think the top barrel problem MAY be me trapping the trigger. The FTFs kept occurring at about 5-6 per 50 pair doubles. The last 50 pair I shot, I had 4 FTF and also the O/U became very hard to close about 5-6 times out of the 50 pair. In the meantime, I had the gun to a reputable gunsmith twice. He said the wood stock was torquing the receiver just enough to interfere with the operation of the inertial block so he relieved the stock twice to correct the problem. He also sped up the release triggers a little for the 2d shot/trapping the trigger problem. Obviously this didn't fix the problem.