1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

K80 Blows up

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by joegriff, Feb 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joegriff

joegriff Member

Yesterday at Triple B's in Southern Cal I Witnessed A friends K80 Blow up while shooting a practice round. I had never been that close to such an explosion. Very loud and happy to say no serious injuries except to cuts on fingers and hands to two people. The Guns receiver and barrels chamber, right side were blown off as well as forearm in pieces. The hull was still in what was left of the chamber was split from brass to end. Shell was a HS AA. I'm no expert so no other comments needed. I own two K32's and don't load 12ga HS AA's.

2. tcr1146

tcr1146 Well-Known Member

LOL! I am sure a pw reloader was involved! Bout time you guys check out the real problem here! Tom Rhoads

3. Nutso

Nutso Member

I saw one blow up once, or rather heard it, it was spectacular....and very loud, also thankfully no one got hurt. The top half of the chamber landed at my feet, about 200 feet from the blow up, and it cleared 60 foot maples on the way.

4. rick979

rick979 Active Member

So does he want to buy a replacement gun?

5. MDMike

MDMike Well-Known Member

Whoa.....

6. Chango2

Chango2 Active Member

...the rest of the story: I saw the gentleman ("L.B.") today, Saturday, 02-11-12, and he is one calm, smart, and tough customer. He shot a handicap event today at Triple B's with another (backup) gun. After the shoot he was "wrenching" on another K-80 he had to get going for future use. Reminded me like a thrash in the pits at the drag races. He set the second K-80 up with release triggers (With help from "Crew Chief"/Trapgun Expert Joe Dillard) and went out and shot a practice round!