1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

K-80 or KX-5?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Auditor, Apr 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Auditor

Auditor TS Member

Hi,

I have convinced myself that I need to "upgrade" my shooting equipment to one of the Kreighoffs. I have been shooting a Teknys for a few years now, and though it's only done me "dirty" once, (The rib fell off at the state shoot-electrical tape is my friend now) I think it might be time to step up.

The question is, K-80 or KX-5? What are the merits of one gun over the other?(Other than I could get a doubles barrel for the k-80) I do plan on shooting both of them soon, so that should tell me a lot. However, there are many of you out there that own and have shot both guns.

Which is best? Be honest, be dishonest, lie...which one takes me to nirvana?

2. krieghoffkrusher

krieghoffkrusher TS Member

No matter what brand gun you choose, if you plan on shooting both doubles and singles a single shot gun won't do you much good. Buy a combo and you can shoot the same gun for both events and I think there is a lot to be said about using the same gun.

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Whatever you decide to buy, find a nice used one and shoot it before you buy it. This way you will avoid a big disappointment. I agree with the above that a combo is your best bet. HMB

4. TomB

TomB Member

The K-80 will have a little less felt recoil to the face since the recoil on the lower barrel is more in line with the shoulder-not upward toward the face. plus I believe the K-80 is heavier which will reduce felt recoil. By all means, get a combo if you can afford it. Tom B

5. Jack L. Smith

Jack L. Smith Member