1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Just Blowing Smoke?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ed in MD, Jun 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed in MD

Ed in MD TS Member

I'm relatively new to trapshooting as well as shotgunning. Is there a rational/practical reason for clearing one's barrel of smoke after extracting the spent hull? As a newb, i watch the experienced guys and some do and some don't.

Thanks, Ed Wenrich

2. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

<i>Is there a rational/practical reason for clearing one's barrel of smoke after extracting the spent hull?</i>

None that I an think of.

3. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

It is a testosterone thing. My thing is sucking the smoke from the barrel when I shoot red Dot in Paper hulls LOL

4. DelarockX

DelarockX TS Member

I do it sometimes. It's a mental thing. Shoulder gun, call, break, clear barrel. It's a mental habit that i picked up that keeps me from getting frustrated if i miss.

5. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

Blowing the smoke out of the barrel lets the shooter have a clear view down the bore to check for obstructions ,i.e. remnants of the fired shell.

MK

6. blowin smoke

blowin smoke TS Member

I feel compelled to respond. A long time ago a buddy talked me into trying registered trap. He was (still is) a heck of a shot (2007-08 VA State Team with a 95%+ HOA avg.) Anyway, when I (finally) ran a straight I cleared the smoke out of the end of the barrel and asked him if he had any questions just to make him laugh. Good times back then. Other than that, no real purpose other than to see how dirty your powder is burnin'...

7. Dark Horse

Dark Horse Member