1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Juniors/Sub Juniors....Spoiled or Sponsored?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by GrizzBear33, Aug 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrizzBear33

GrizzBear33 TS Member

Hello all. I went to this years grand and saw something that I want to know more about. I finished shooting one day and while walking back to my car saw a group of kids shooting so I stopped and watched them. Being a SCTP coach, I like to see kids shooting good but when they walked off the line I could not stand to notice that not one of their guns had a price under $12,000. And on top of that, they were all shooting brand new STS and AA shells and not even keeping the hulls.

Are these kids just spoiled by their parents or is it possible that some of these kids are being "sponsored" by some of these companies?

2. ffwildcat

ffwildcat TS Member

The odds favor spoiled more than sponsored.
    But I fail to see the problem. Looks like they have really smart parents to me. Buy the best gun you can afford and avoid all the hassle of gun progression, just do it once and get it done. I wish I had been that smart!
    As for hulls, I rarely see SCTP kids shooting reloads so what are they supposed to do with the hulls? I think they're doing exactly the right thing, passing them onto less fortunate souls like me that have to dumpster dive for hulls to cut costs.
    I do agree that a lot of SCTP kids shoot equipment that is high end but consider the alternatives, 10,000 more kids sitting around doing nothing. Think about how much money is tied up in SCTP now, it is a very big business.