1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Jumping at the Birds

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Hilton55, Nov 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hilton55

Hilton55 TS Member

I recently started shooting Trap again after a 20 year lay-off and it's great to be back! I got a wall chart from Terry Nelson a few weeks ago, use it every day and it's helping me a lot. I only have about 15 rounds under my belt so far and the scores are coming up fast.

When I was shooting today, one of the veteran shooters told me that I was jumping the birds. He said that my overall swing is good but that I jerk the gun when I first start to swing onto the bird. I'm probably doing this because I'm anxious to get on the bird quickly and get it broken.

Anybody have some tips on how to establish a smooth start to my swing? Thanks!

John

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

Dicipline, practice and discipline

Do not move the gun until you have a firm eye lock on the front edge of the target. If you find yourself chasing a streak you did not have that eye lock. Practice the eye work without a gun by standing somewhere behind a squad and following their targets with your eyes from the house to their shot

A target moving at 66 ft/sec can not hope to outrun a load of shot moving at 1100 ft/sec.

MK

3. canada

canada Member

A way to confirm that you are not moving before you see it is have someone turn off the button periodically when it is your turn to shoot. It will be obvious whether you are moving before you see the bird. If you are, you should consciously try not to move, and keep having him not pull you a bird until you can hold the gun still.