1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Ithaca Mag-10 and 10 gauge reloading

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 7remmag, Feb 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 7remmag

7remmag Member

I'm looking into getting an Ithaca Mag-10 shotgun as a turkey and possibly goose gun. I want to know people's opinions on the shotgun and if it's worth going with the 10 gauge as opposed to the 12 gauge 3 1/2". Also does anyone have any experience reloading 10 gauge 3 1/2" hulls? I'm a beginner at this and I'm trying to get as much information as I can get. I shoot trap regularly and enjoy reloading 12 gauge hulls so I have a some experience and I know the terminology.

Kyle

2. Doug Brown

Doug Brown Well-Known Member

IMO- the 10ga cartridge is better than the 3-1/2" 12ga, but remember the Mag 10 is quite a bit heavier to swing. You can buy a lot shells for the price of the loader. How many 10ga shells do you anticipate shooting in a year?

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

In my opinion the 10 ga. is overkill. 12 ga. 2 3/4" Federal copper plated turkey loads work plenty fine out to 45 yds. Same with the goose and ducks. Good steel loads will do the same thing as the 10 Ga. Why pay $20 a box or more for shells.

4. coot shooter

coot shooter Member

I would stay away from the Mag 10. Go with a Remington SP-10. You can find a good one for $750-$900 if you are patient.

I will argue with anyone that claims a 12 can compare to a 10 .... NO WAY!!!

Reloading is another matter. You can produce handloads that put factory shells to shame, but it is not cheap. Tungsten or ITX is awesome!!!

I reload, but spend extra money to get what I want.

If you hunt geese or turkeys I would not hesitate to go to a 10 ga.

Mike

5. Doug Brown

Doug Brown Well-Known Member