1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

IS SHOOTING ADDICTIVE?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, Oct 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

hello:
    i started shooting in 1970, love the shooting, the camaraderie, made some really good friendships over the years. in the early years, i had to sell guns to pay for realestate taxes, braces, doctor bills etc. tried numerous times to quit,due to the expense. took up fishing, while drifing in a boat, all i thought about was shooting with my friends. took up golf, all i thought about was shooting. started shooting 1,000 practice targets a week, could not get enough. went to the grand, shot every target i could, and had to get on a grand american early handicap squad so i could get back home in time to shoot a nearby club's ata shoot. purchased every book i could find on the sport, every magazine. read these books during my breaks at work. my wife would ask me to paint a bedroom on the weekend, told her "when the time is right". 3 years later, she asked if the time was right? said I have an ata shoot to attend. she asked me to drive her 68 miles to see her elderly aunt, and i said it was to far to drive. she asked me how come when it pertains to shooting, i have taken, planes, trains, cabs, to get to a shoot? how come i can't drive her 68 miles? found out the city that her aunt lives in has a gun club with an ata event coming up. told her, the time was right to visit her aunt, who knows how much longer she has to live. she asked me when the bedroom will be painted? told her i could only do so much. told her i wasn't put on earth just to paint. she said that i wasn't put on earth just to shoot . i said i think i'm addicted to this sport. since 1970