1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it the gun, or is it me?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by yakimaman, Jun 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

I started shooting trap in April - traded in a Browning Recoiless (defective) and bought a new Browning XT with adjustable comb; Shooting about 100 rounds a week and I've gone from being ok with high teens to be unhappy with 20. A couple of days ago I picked up a really clean (honestly, inside and out it looks new) Winchester Trap 1200, 30" fixed full choke. It was going to go in the closet for friends or my son to use. I took it with me to the league shoot yesterday just to see what it shot like and it left me perplexed. I shot four practice rounds with it - 21, 20, 21, 23. In between those rounds I shot my league 50 with the XT - 36. I look at the XT - $2,700 - look at the Winchester - $300 - I have one relative who thinks you have to have a Ljutic or Blaser, or similar to even start this sport and here I am after a couple of months and outshoot myself with this old pump. What the *&^%!

2. Goliad

Goliad TS Member

Probably one of two things. A: It fits you better. or B: You relaxed while you were using it.

3. bluskyshooter

bluskyshooter Active Member

Thats the problem with this sport ... In my limited experience, I am finding that all guns shoot different for ya. There is no telling how the gun will work for you ... until you try it. Gets expensive trying lots of guns !! I have bought 6 guns and sold 3 so far ... in less than a year. Would be a lot easier if there was a supermarket of guns ... with a range out back you could test them on !!

4. RobertT

RobertT Well-Known Member