1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Is Choke for Smoke a Joke?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JBrooks, Apr 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

So the question of the day "Is choke for smoke a joke"? I have heard and read choke for smoke ever since I started shooting trap almost 4 years ago. In fact, when I took a clinic from Leo he said "I don't care what choke you use as long as it's full". I do admit that "choke for smoke" is a nice rhyme but is that all it is?

Obviously, the size of the pattern from a full choke is much smaller shooting targets from the 16 yard line compared to shooting from the 27 yard line. Is this full choke mantra left over from the days when everyone shot fixed choke guns? Why shouldn't you screw in a choke that produces as big a pattern as possible that is still sufficiently dense to break every target that you are more or less centered on from the 16 yard line if you can? After all, a broken target accounts just as much as a smoked target.

So, Friday, I bought a four pack of Walmart Winchester 1 1/8 8s (because they're closer to 8.5s giving me more pellets than the Walmart Federals I usually shoot), screwed in a Briley light modified (next notch up from a skeet), in my 99 Plus, shot a few 40 yard patterns to make sure my POI was still 100% and then shot three practice rounds with the only three that I missed being definitely my fault. Now granted, I wasn't smoking the targets like my light full usually does, but the targets were being significantly destroyed. Being a one eyed shooter, I certainly don't break the targets very close to the house so the pattern was holding together pretty well.