1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Internet at the Grand?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tomlieb, Aug 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomlieb

    tomlieb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    What is available at the Grand for Internet?
    Is there any Wi-Fi hotspots?
    How about G3 Cellular service?
    Tom
     
  2. JACK

    JACK Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    14,686
    Location:
    NW Wisconsin
    Nothing to it. Lots everywhere. Main bldg, WI FI. But 3G shoueld be eveywhere.
     
  3. GBatch_25

    GBatch_25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,339
    Location:
    Illinois
    The only 'hot spot' for WiFi is the Admin Bldg, AFAIK.
    3 and 4G should be everywhere.

    Gene Batchelar
    Wheaton, IL
     
  4. shubble72

    shubble72 TS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    Does the campsites have wireless internet?
     
  5. jrdlanes

    jrdlanes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    397
    I am sitting in the Massassuga (SP?) park as I type this. I was surprised but yes I have a wireless connection. Not a great signal strength but I have 1 for now.
     
  6. slugbug1

    slugbug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    803
    I'm writing this from the north campground with WiFi and it works great. No problems. GaryL
     
  7. mx8dave

    mx8dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Washington
    thanks guys we've been weondering about this,,, mx8dave
     
  8. shubble72

    shubble72 TS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    i was camped right west of the shower house and couldnt connect. it worked fine in the event center but they need to work on the campgrounds
     
  9. recurvyarcher

    recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450
    Shubble, that is a problem area there. Spotty 3G if you are an AT&T customer.
     
  10. il shooter

    il shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    224
    we were camp noth of shower house and could not get internet service or tv service chanel 20 to show results hope they up grade systms for next year
     
  11. slugbug1

    slugbug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    803
    For some reason channel 20 came on my TV on channel 71....20 got me nothing. I had internet in the north campground for a few days, but when everyone started showing up I couldn't get it anymore. GaryL.
     
  12. recurvyarcher

    recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450
    Yep, we couldn't get the tv station, either. We were over on Monarch Drive. People that had the big monster campers didn't seem to have a problem getting that tv signal, though. I guess we need a 20 ft. mast antenna...LOL!!!
     
  13. slugbug1

    slugbug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    803
    We were on Monarch drive too, got it on channel 71.GaryL.
     
  14. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,150
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    They had some issues with their internet connection later in the week. It affected both the Wi-Fi users as well as RJstuart. It wasn't the WSRC/Grand/IDNR/Sparta's fault it was Verizon the provider. Now don't kill the messenger, this is what i was told by an ATA employee as well as WSRC employee. Whether or not that is the truth, i do not know.---Matt
     
  15. recurvyarcher

    recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450
    I don't have Verizon...I have AT&T. Plus, the same thing happened to me last year.
     
  16. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    17,150
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    If you were using their Wi-Fi you were on Verizon. If you were using your own Air Card(AT&T) as you said then i'd say its just location. I'm an AT&T cell phone user myself and some parts of the WSRC have crapy service. There is an AT&T tower in downtown Sparta. I live in Sparta and have full bars. I did use rjstuarts Score Board on my cell phone(I-Phone) out there with no problems.---Matt
     
  17. recurvyarcher

    recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450
    Yeah, I know it's an AT&T tower problem. We need one up at that end, but I doubt that putting one there would be cost-effective to AT&T.

    I will try channel 71 on the tv next year.
     
  18. BIGDON

    BIGDON Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    6,620
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm as far a way from the Center (southwest) as you can get. I had the score board all 2 weeks. Make sure all settings on your TV are correct and your boost is on.

    Don
     
  19. slugbug1

    slugbug1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    803
    recurvyarcher ..go into your tv menu after you get the antenna hooked up and search for active channels. Thats how my tv found it on 71 this year....I doubt I would have found it on my own. GaryL.
     
  20. recurvyarcher

    recurvyarcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,450
    LOL...you're assuming I have a newer tv. $25 little black and white tv radio with a thumb dial. hahahahah

    Next year will be better. We will probably have something newer by then. Our camper got trashed in the storm.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.