1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

International Clays - MEC Bushing Question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by 101voodoo, Oct 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 101voodoo

101voodoo TS Member

Looking for info on which MEC bushing you use for this load:

Internat'l 1 1/8 Win. 209 Hor. Versalite 19.5 9,100 LUP 1200

I do have scales and will weigh the drops, just hoping someone can steer me to the right bushing and save some trail and error.

Been using 20.4 gns of Green Dot, thinking Int Clays may be a bit cleaner.

Thx,

Jim

2. Buckeye

Buckeye Member

I have a #31 bushing that I have filed a tad that gives me 20.0 grains of Int. Clays every time. I think my #30 gives me around 19.2. I have been using this powder for many years and it works great for me.

My favorite handicap load is 20.0 grains with a Fiocchi primer in a STS or Gun Club and a Downrange Windjammer wad with # 7 1/2 shot. This load is right out of the Hodgdon book.

The bushing chart in the Hodgdon data seems to come very close to what I get on my scale.

3. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

Jim, This is off Mec's bushing chart. for inter. Clays powder as follows #29 will throw 19.3 grs. #30 will throw 20 grs. and #31 will throw 20.8 grs. This should give you a good starting point to start with. Please do use a good scale to fine turn your powder drops. If need be I like to go up one bushing and paint on some finger nail polish or model paint to bring it down. You can always remove the paint at a later date if you change powders or whatever. Once you grind down a bushing forever it is. Good Luck and Break-em all. Jeff

4. hoggy

hoggy TS Member

Better weigh/measure. My 32 mec bushing drops 19.8-20.3 within that range for international clays.

5. mette56