1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Instruction w/ D. Shaeffer

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Rich219, May 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rich219

Rich219 Active Member

I was going to use the title "Best $300 I ever spent!!" for this thread but apparently someone beat me to it!

I had the opportunity to head out to Cicero, NY to spend a few hours of private instruction with Dave Shaeffer and was extremely satisfied with the results. I've been shooting for around six months now and have hit a ceiling of about a 93.5% singles average. I've known that I had two or three flaws with my game and that these flaws were causing me to miss 1-2 birds per 25. Within the first round Dave was able to recognize my problems and work with me to fix them. Between drills and explanations of what was causing me to miss and how to fix it I feel like I should be able to add another 2-4% to my average after Dave's help and getting some practice in over the next few weeks.

I've only shot about 100-150 doubles targets up until today and within five minutes or so Dave was able to get me on target and breaking pair consistently. I wish I had more time (and money!) so that I could of spent a solid two hours just working on my doubles game. I'll save this for next time he's in the area though.