1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Inflation Calculator

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by otnot, Mar 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. otnot

otnot Active Member

The link above is an inflation calculator that begins in 1913. What $1 dollar would buy in 1913 now takes $22.24.

2. Pull & Mark

Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

otnot, I see its not so good on gas!!! The year I graduated from HS one dollar bought me 3 gallons of gas and in your calculator it will only buy me one gallon today, even less in the days ahead. Its pretty interesting all the same. Breake-m all.Jeff

3. BFJ201

BFJ201 TS Member

But there's the trick Jeff. The CPI factors out (IMHO) the biggest driving factor besides growth in the money supply of inflation. That is of course energy prices. Just another trick by the government so they can lie to the masses and point to the CPI and say they're keeping prices under control when even more buying power is eroded because of high energy prices.

James

4. Pull & Mark

James, Gas and oil aside, I checked the year I graduated for dollar worth and its about 4 in todays market. Now I know what min. wage was then and today and its less than double today while the dollar is worth 4. So you have to work twice the hours for the same worth in dollars at min. wage. Its about the same for anyone in a trade as well. Wages may have doubled but not up 4 times. I wonder what the politicans made 35 years ago and now today???? Interesting thought. Break-em all. Jeff

5. 221

221 Banned User Banned TS Supporters

I say you are looking at it ass-backwards.....It's an indicator of your "buying power" compared to another period of time, not a comparison of the price of gas.