1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

In a slump

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jmac_cope, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmac_cope

jmac_cope Active Member

I have been shooting trap for around 6 or 8 months and have tried to learn to practice with the proper fundamentals. I continued to improve to a point that I was averaging around 23 at the 16 yrd line and 21 at the 22yrd line. All of a sudden, I can not hit by fanny with both hands. I'll end up missing 4 or 5 in a row! I try to go back to basics, but just not getting it back.

I'm open to ideas from any of you more experienced shooters.
    Thanks,
    John

2. ismah

ismah Member

You're trying too hard. Relax your brain before shooting, don't watch the shooters on your squad, it will help you to shoot one target at a time. Individualize each shot. Make sure your mount is solid and smoke them.

3. SongDogSniper

SongDogSniper Member

Just a thought.
    This is what I tell the kids.
    You know how to shoot You've proven it. So doit. If you need anextra boost. Spin counter-clockwise and spit. (Advice from a friend) Always works. Helps with bowling too.

4. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member

2 suggestions: 1) Pattern your gun and make sure it is shooting straight with enough choke for 35 yards 2) Have your vision checked and make sure you are not having an eye dominance issue which can happen as we get older.

5. capvan

capvan Active Member

I started shooting 25's when I learned to stop counting my score as I was shooting. Most of the 25's I shoot, it's a surprise to me. I simply shoot each bird without worrying about what came before, or what is coming up. Concentrate on the bird, let the gun shoot itself. It will...

cap

6. kiv-c

kiv-c Member