1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

I'm new to shooting sports - ammo questions

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by rlvanden, Nov 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rlvanden

rlvanden TS Member

I

I'm new to shooting sports and a bit confused by all the choices in ammo. Is there a good online source or book that explains what all the diffrent specifications of ammo are? I can tell from reading the box what the size of the shot is, the velocity, the amount of power, etc., but there are some things that I still don't understand.

What is the difference between a light load and a heavy target load? What is a light handicap load? What is each type of load good for? What else do you look for when buying ammo? Any recommendations for commonly available shells? Thanks.

2. JLSIMON

JLSIMON Member

Alot of people are looking at this and thinking, where do I start to explain all this? I'll take the first swing...This is 12ga. only.
    For the shooting sports 1 1/8th oz of shot is the Max. Lots of people shoot 1 oz. and a few 7/8. Anything over 1 1/8oz. shot is for hunting. Anything larger than 7 1/2 size shot is for hunting as well.

Now again, 12ga only/1 1/8th oz shot...historically light loads have been 2 3/4dram(1145 fps) and Heavy have been 3 dram(1200 fps). Heavy can now mean 3 1/4 dram (1235+ fps) These are also called Handicap or Super Handicap or some other such term.
    Dram is an old weight measurement carried over from the Blackpowder days but still used today (by some)to reference the charge/speed of the loading. Some manufacturers are now using feet per second instead of dram to avoid confusion.