1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

I must brag - I made the fence

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Pocatello, Jun 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pocatello

Pocatello Active Member

I started shooting ATA targets in spring 1978, and over the years was pretty much stuck on the low 20s for handicap yardage. I reached a maximum of 24 yards in 2003, but took a reduction back to 23 in 2004. In the spring of 2007 I was at 22.5 and had just received a reduction to 21.5. Instead of taking it I asked Neil Winston to change my yardage to 25.0 as allowed by the recent rule change. My reason was to be able to squad with some other friends from Idaho at the SW Grand. They were all 27 yard shooters. My handicap scores there weren't much different than what I had been shooting from short yardage, 91/93/91/88/84. I finished the year with an average just under 88, about the same as 2006, and better than my 83 average for the previous two years. I did get one punch to the 25.5 for a 96 score. This year my handicap average was running about 83 again, and I was offered a reduction to 24.5. I reminded Kathy Key that the rules say I'm not eligible for a reduction for two years after the increase by shooter request, so the reduction was rescinded.