1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

I met my biggest Hero today.

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by doogiebarnes, Oct 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doogiebarnes

doogiebarnes TS Member

I was sitting in the Denver airport waiting to catch a flight to Chicago. As I was sitting there reading the USA Today, this old man walked up and asked me if I was a pilot. (I was in my airline pilot uniform.) I replied yes. While I didn't know him, he seemed familiar. He asked me about the Airbus and how it was to fly it. I told him about the differences in the Boeing and Airbus frames. After about 5 minutes of chatting, his wife walked up and we chatted for another few minutes about where they had been and where they were going. The old man said he was 90 and his wife was about the same I guessed. They were bright, sharp and very alert for being 90 I thought.

The man mentioned that while he never flew as a pilot, he rode in several aircraft in WWII. I asked which one was his favorite. He said the B17. I asked where he served and he said Europe. He was in Normandy and Belgium, then later Germany. He said he retired from the Army as a Major.

He then asked if I had the internet on my iphone and asked about the stock market, and commented about how great technology was and how amazing the internet is.

As he was just about to board his flight he grabbed my hand and asked for my first name. I told him and he said, "My name's Dick. Thanks for the Airbus lesson." It finally clicked! I replied, "Major Winters, it was an Honor to meet you and spend a few minutes with a living hero. I have ultimate respect for you and your men. I wish you the very best. And thank you for your courage and service to our country."