1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

I finally received my new Canon AE-1 camera

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by senior smoke, Jun 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

    senior smoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,564
    Location:
    Wauwatosa Wisconsin
    Hello:
    I received my new Canon AE-1 camera from my wife's elderly aunt today. Everything was in the box but the instruction manual. I called my wife's aunt and thanked her for the camera and asked where the manual was? She said that years ago one of the kids was looking at the camera and had everything out of the box, and thought everything was put back in it.

    I have some questions for people who have used the Canon AE-1 in the past. When I look in the camera I see the needle on the right side showing what the the F stop should be. How do I know what the shutter speed should be?

    I have looked up on the internet charts showing approximate shutter speed settings. Bur how do people know for sure what shutter speed to use?
    Steve Balistreri
     
  2. Brian in Oregon

    Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
  3. senior smoke

    senior smoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,564
    Location:
    Wauwatosa Wisconsin
    Brian:
    Thank you. I can only access part one though?
    Steve
     
  4. DickG

    DickG TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    78
    You set the shutter speed, and the camera automatically sets the f-stop
     
  5. senior smoke

    senior smoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,564
    Location:
    Wauwatosa Wisconsin
    Dick:
    Thanks for the info.
    Steve
     
  6. Joey  S.

    Joey S. TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    95
    You set the shytter speed you want to shoot at. The meter indicates the f stop for that shutter speed, you then set the f stop manually (this is for manual mode). Joe S.
     
  7. Chichay

    Chichay TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,864
    You can also set it to aperture priority, and it'll pick the appropriate shutter speed; or AE Program for full auto; or manual.
     
  8. Brian in Oregon

    Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Steve, I'm not having any problem with part 2, other than it opens in a new window or tab slow. Try right clicking on it and then chose "Save Target As" or "Save link As" (same thing depending on which browser you use) and save it directly to your computer. Then open it.
     
  9. senior smoke

    senior smoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,564
    Location:
    Wauwatosa Wisconsin
    Brian:
    Got it to work, this really helps me out.
    Thank you,
    Steve

    Santajo123:
    Thanks for that bit of info, as it now makes sense to me.
    Steve
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.