1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

hunting stories your most interesting

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by wolfram, Dec 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Back in the days when I was a cash strapped engineering student, I remember looking out my window and seeing a pair of rooster pheasants walking the ditchline about 100 yards away. The season was on and as usual there wasn't much food in the house. There my trust 870 sat in the corner but foolishly I had shot up every shell I had at ducks weeks ago. But I just couldn't put my nose back in the books with those long tailed cacklers out there in the open so I grabbed the wrist rocket and a couple of cast lead 158 grain .38 bullets that happened to be in my desk and set out to hopefully ground pound one of the roosters. Well, I managed to sneek up to within 20 feet of the pair and I took carefull aim and let 'er fly --- missed by about a foot. But for some reason the birds didn't flush so I got another slug into the rocket and drew back and then all hell broke loose and about six birds jumped up even closer than the ones I had shot at. Out of pure shock and suprise, I let the sling go and majically the lead slug hit one of the airborne birds right in the base of the neck killing it instantly. The hunting gods had smiled on me - too bad there weren't any witnesses.

2. birdtracker

birdtracker Active Member