1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

how to start shooting w/ both eyes.........

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by tdhrlyrydr, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tdhrlyrydr

tdhrlyrydr TS Member

Hello all, I am new to the sport and this site....I am enjoying both so far.
    I however shoot with 1 eye and am told that it is much easier/better to shoot w/ both eyes open. Why? And, how do I go about beginning this practice(other than just opening my other eye.....to save all the wisecracks..haha)

Thanks Tom

2. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

first off, the eye you currently shooting with, is it your domminate eye? if not you will need to switch shoulders or get a crazy sidesighter rib. I had a problem at first. I would shoot one round with eye open then closed its really not hard to do. It took me about 2 weeks to get comfortable with 2 eyes open another 500/1000 rounds for my scores to come up. best thing i have done, going 2 eye

3. shannon391

shannon391 Active Member

Start with a BB gun shooting a swinging can hanging from a tree branch at close range. It's a great little eye exercise.

4. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

I don't want to sound like a smart butt, but that is EXACTLY what you must do. Make a project out of looking at the target with both eyes, and the gun will go to the target.

There may be a time when you want to bead check, and your scores may dip for a short while, but all in all, two eyed shooting is much superior to shooting with 50% (or less) of your vision! If you snap one eye closed, you are likely to squint the other eye, further reducing your vision.