1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

How to slow down pulling the trigger

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, Mar 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

I've been shooting trap more lately (last couple weeks) to get ready for the ATA season. I've noticed that I'm pulling the trigger too fast on hard left birds on post 1 (in other words I'm behind the bird). [Not so much of a problem on post 5] I tell myself to see the 'sight picture' before shooting but I just want to pull the trigger.

I've been shooting trap now for exactly 2 years.

Anyone have any practice tips so I slow down and see the sight picture before pulling the trigger?

2. Twinbirds

Twinbirds TS Member

get a better look at the bird,wait until you are on the bird, keep your head on the gun,you should never feel hurry on a shot, or change your swing speed to match your trigger finger.

3. dverna

dverna Active Member

You are shooting on timing instead of sight picture.

Very common problem. LOOK AT THE BIRD and get your sight picture.

Also focus on follow through.

You are half way there by understanding why you are missing.

Remember, the bird cannot outrun you?

Don Verna

4. Ed Y

Ed Y TS Supporters TS Supporters

This could also be the result of a long stock, if you're right handed.

Ed Yanchok

5. glenns

glenns Member

Don - you are right about 'shooting on timing instead of sight picture.' At times I feel like I'm shooting on 'auto pilot.'

I'll focus on seeing the sight picture.

Glenn

6. V10

V10 Well-Known Member

Glenn,

You want to look at the target, not at the beads.

You're either shooting the streak, or you're bead checking.

Either way you aren't looking at the target. You're "panic" shooting.